Experience the difference of "Elite".

Getting Started

Core Concepts

Channel Management

Integrations

OwnerRez APIs

Payment Processing

Testing

Websites

Change Log

Channel Templates

As of September 2023, Airbnb removed its proxy (pass-through) email alias address function. See the Request Airbnb Guest Contact Information support article for more specific details.

Messaging Templates and Triggers are a powerful part of the OwnerRez messaging system that automates messaging, based on events or scheduled times, while also giving users the ability to maintain a personalized and branded look and feel.

OwnerRez users can create channel messaging templates that can be sent to Airbnb or Vrbo API-connected channels.

See the Email Templates or SMS Templates support articles for utilizing custom email or SMS messaging.

Channel Templates

Users can create and compose Channel Templates by navigating to Settings > Messaging > Templates.

Custom Email Message Templates

Select the Channel tab and from the Create Channel Template drop-down list, select the type of Channel Template that you want to create - current options are Booking, Guest or Inquiry types. Users should note that triggers can only be created for Booking or Inquiry type templates.

Select the Channel tab and from the Create Channel Template drop-down list, select the type of Channel Template that you want to create - current options are Booking, Guest or Inquiry types. Users should note that triggers can only be created for Booking or Inquiry type templates.

When you go to create a Channel Template, the plain text editor allows users to edit the template name and body fields with the ability to insert Field codes much like the OwnerRez Email Template - but with fewer field code options.

Create a Booking Channel Template that includes Field Codes.

Click on the Insert buttonInsert Field Code Button to add field codes to your channel template and the selected field code will be added to your template.

Insert Booking Field Codes

When users want to see how their channel template will appear to guests, they can click on Save, then choose Preview at the top of the screen.

Preview your Channel Template.

Users can also preview additional channel messages for other properties and/or guests by selecting from the Property and Booking drop-down lists. Click on Close to exit the preview.

Channel Template Preview

Users can adjust and edit their channel template and then preview it until their template appears as desired.

Once you've written your Channel Template, users can use the Trigger feature to determine when it will be sent. Customized Channel Templates will only be sent automatically if the channel template has a corresponding trigger set.

Delete, Disable, or Reenable a Channel Template

It is possible to delete a channel template, but it is a drastic choice. OwnerRez recommends that you disable it instead, as disabled channel templates are not displayed or visible in the templates list and can be re-enabled. Once you delete a channel template, you have to reconfigure it from scratch.

If a channel template is associated with any triggers, you won't be able to disable or delete it, and the system will notify you of that limitation in the upper right corner of the app.

If triggers are associated with an email template, you won't be able to disable or delete it, and the system will notify you of that limitation in-app in the upper right corner.

If your channel template is not associated with any triggers, you can disable it by navigating to Settings > Messaging > Templates > the Channel tab, selecting the template you wish to disable > and clicking on the Disable button.

Disable it by navigating to Settings > Messaging > Templates > the Channel tab, selecting the template you wish to disable > and clicking on the Disable button.

By default, disabled channel templates are not displayed in the listing of all active templates. However, you can click on Show All to display all enabled and disabled channel templates.

Click on Show All to display all enabled and disabled channel templates.

You can re-enable disabled channel templates by selecting the template you wish to re-enable > and clicking on the Enable button.

Re-enable disabled channel templates by selecting the template you wish to re-enable > and clicking on the Enable button.

You can delete channel templates by navigating to Settings > Messaging > Templates > the Channel tab, selecting the template you wish to delete, and clicking on the Delete button.

Delete channel templates by navigating to Settings > Messaging > Templates > the Channel tab, selecting the template you wish to delete, and clicking on the Delete button.

You will be asked, "Are you sure you want to delete the 1 selected email template? This cannot be undone." Click OK.